Solved

New Modem/Router STILLSlow Wi-Fi on SB8200

• 20 March 2024
  • 8 replies

Badge

I posted this about 2 months ago.  I made the adjustments, but I’m still having issues.  In fact, my “guest” network is actually much faster than my main network so I’m not sure what to do.  I created a home network, guest network, and IOT network.  Still it’s not improving. Does anyone have suggestions?  I’m not sure if there are more specific ways to “modify” the modem or settings?  I’m good with technology but no means a modem/network guy.

Thanks for any help!

I recently returned my xfinity modem/router and purchased a new one.  My IT Guy at work suggested the upgrade to speed up my service.

I have the SB8200 modem and TP-Link - AX1800 WiFi 6 Router.

I hooked everything up, but the wifi seems to be slower than before.  I don’t know if something isn’t configured correctly? 

I’m no expert at all so any help would be appreciated.  Here are the screenshots I thought might help.

icon

Best answer by SURFboard Moderator 21 March 2024, 22:27

View original

This topic has been closed for comments

8 replies

Userlevel 5
Badge +41

SB8200 is just a cable modem so if the slow speed is only on the Wi-Fi then you need to check and configure the Wi-Fi setting to improve the speed of your network. The cable signal level which you have shared show that its not accepted level for upstream. 

The SNR should be above 33 on all of them. The downstream power should always be between -15 and +15. The closer to 0 the better connection. Finally, your upstream power should always be between +45 and +51

On all of those values you should not have more than 3 decibels (or dB) between the lowest and the highest

By having the values in less than that, your device will have interrupted connection, slow or no connection at all.